Planning Board

The Smithfield Planning Board is made up of five (5) regular members and two (2) alternate members. Members are appointed by the Board of Selectmen to a five (5) year term. When there is a permanent vacancy, the Board of Selectmen appoints a new member for the remainder of the unexpired term.

Below are the current Planning Board members:

  • Jo-Anne Bushey, Regular Member
  • Michelle Taylor, Regular Member
  • Erik Rasmussen, Chair
  • Ed Glasheen, Regular Member
  • David Kincaid, Regular Member
  • Jodie Mosher Towle, Alternate Member
  • Gloria Kelly, Alternate Member

Planning Board meetings are held once per month on the second Wednesday, except when there are no items on the agenda.

Meetings take place at the Municipal Building. Time of meeting is as follows: November thru April 6:00 pm and May thru October 7:00 pm

You must be on the agenda prior to the meeting for any official business you may have.

Current Agenda please email for a copy

Planning Board Minutes: 


Brief Summary of monthly meetings

FY 2023-24

  • February 8th No Meeting
  • March 8th No Meeting
  • April
  • May
  • June
  • July
  • August
  • September
  • October
  • November
  • December
  • January

FY 2022-23

FY 2021-22

See our Downloadable Forms Page for Applications

Contact the Office for copies of the town’s ordinances

The responsibilities and duties of the Planning Board are:

  • Review and approval of site plans
  • Review and approval of subdivision applications
  • Review proposed changes to the Land Use Ordinance and advise the Board of Selectmen
  • Participate in updating or amending the Municipal Comprehensive Plan
  • Review any matter referred to the Board by the Board of Selectmen or Code Enforcement Officer

 Appeals Board

  • Mel Croft, Chair
  • Steve Swindell, Regular Member
  • Kay Young, Regular Member
  • J. Pat Elwell, Regular Member
  • Joni Gould, Regular Member
  • Virgina Anderson, Alternate Member
  • Vacant, Alternate Member

Appeal Board Minutes Current Fiscal Year :

The Land Use Board of Appeals reviews, hears, and decides appeals where it is alleged there is a violation or error made by the code enforcement officer in the enforcement of the Land Use Ordinance or with any administrative procedure. The Board also hears appeals for Variances for property that does not meet the limitations set by the Land Use Ordinance.

Budget Committee

The Budget Committee meets at the request of the Board of Selectmen and. during budget workshops to review the municipal budget and then meets on the second Saturday morning in February, appoints from among its members a Chairman, and makes recommendations on the final budget, which will be presented to the voters of the Town.

The Budget Committee is made up of five voting members appointed by the Board of Selectmen for a five year term. Below are the current members of the Budget Committee:

  • David Jackson
  • Han Rasmussen
  • Jerry Tipper
  • Cindy Wyman
  • Terry Spencer

RSU #54/MSAD#54 Board of Directors

The Members of the RSU #54/MSAD#54 Board of Directors are elected to a three (3) year term at the Municipal Election. Below are the current director’s for Smithfield:

  • Dan Frey, Smithfield Director  Term Expires March of
  • Rebecca Anderson, Smithfield Director  Term Expires March of

Kennebec Regional Development Authority

The Town of Smithfield is one of the 24 municipalities that share representation in the Kennebec Regional Development Authority (KRDA) and together support the FirstPark project through shared costs and revenues. Below are the representatives from Smithfield currently serving on the KRDA Board:

  • Richard Moore, 1st Selectmen
  • Molly Chapman, 2nd Selectmen